Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

How to draw a 'circle' with straight sides

SouthernFellow
So, from the title of this post, you can probably tell I'm not an engineer and an utter newb with CAD!

What I want to draw is this:

My issue is, is that it has to be properly dimensioned and my trig is probably the weakest part of an already weak math's ability.  This means drawing two lines and a couple of curves is going to be tough for me to get absolutely right.

I was wondering if there's an easier way of doing this than getting out a calculator and pencil and paper!

Thanks in advance
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: How to draw a 'circle' with straight sides

dellus
Hmm. It's easier to do it with a calculator and pencil and paper.
But if you have the ambition to do it with CAD, you will have to challenge your brain.
Do you have an idea how to do it?
Reply | Threaded
|

SouthernFellow
I did work it out in the end.

I ended up drawing two isosceles triangles each way from the centre point (I cheated and measured the length of the flat part on the actual component with digital calipers).  I knew the length of all three sides and so used cosine law (and yeah, you bet I had to look that up on the internet!) to work out the vertex angle.

One I'd done that, I used divide to mark the part of the arc between the intersections of the triangles sides and the circle.  Then I just selected the new 'arc' entities and just deleted them.  Then I just removed the sides of the triangle, leaving the bases there.

Reply | Threaded
|

LordOfBikes
Administrator
My suggestion without calculator:
1. draw the vertical and horizontal center lines
2. with Parallel from Line tools draw 2 vertical lines, distance 10.8 / 2
3. draw the circle with Center, Radius tool, radius 6 and snap it to the center lines intersection point