classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Importing PNG Image

LorraineP
Hello,

I'm new to this program, so pardon the newbie issues.

1. Is there a basic user manual?

2. What type of images are best to import?

3. When I import a PNG I don't see it. Stays a black screen.

4. When I imported an SVG file I see part of the image in the upper right corner. How do I drag it?

All I really want/need to do with this program is import images I've already created and then export them as a DFX file.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Importing PNG Image

dellus
You can not really import an image into LibreCAD and export it as a dxf file. It's only a reference to an external image file you have to carry along with the dxf, preferably in the the same folder. Why do you want to "convert" a bitmap file to a dxf, which is a vector file, this makes no sense. More background information please. There are raster to vector converting apps, is this what you are looking for? But this is only a makeshift.
https://wiki.librecad.org/images/2/20/LibreCAD_Users_Manual_2.1.3.pdf  Not basic, but less is not useful.
PNG is fine.
You might try zoom all.
You can drag an image like any other object.

Reply | Threaded
|

LorraineP
Thank you for replying. Let me give you more details of my project. I am creating Tshirt graphics (not in adobe) and saving them as a PNG.
I need DXF file for certain cutting machines

I give the purchaser jpg, gif, png, ai, eps, svg and dxf files.

My only issue right now is how to generate a dxf file
Reply | Threaded
|

dellus
Sorry, instead of zoom all, I meant Autozoom.

You might be able to see your imported graphic then.