Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
10 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Librecadni10, brief self-introduction

Librecadni10
Greetings, Gentle Folk at LibreCAD Forums -  LibreCAD Internet Relay Chat Network

I will just give a brief self-introduction;  

I am a retired Plumber and HVACR technician. I have a modest workshop with a Milling Machine, a Lathe, Drill press, Table Saw and Radial Arm Saw. I usually use those things in an effort, often futile, to repair things. So I make many small parts, if the part is too complex to keep it in my head, I’ll free-hand draw up whatever I want to make, I also make a rather inept use of SketchUp©.

I have taught Apprentices how to draw Plumbing isometrics, a type of drawing that does not use perspective and where unit length is always the same. For instance; draw a skeletal cube so that you can see all twelve lines that make up the edges of the cube, all lines of the cube are the same unit length. Once you get to the stage where you can see the cube morph “in” and “out” of the page, you are ready to learn to draw Plumbing Isometrics. So far as I know there is no on-line resource for this type of drawing.

I have managed to learn to use SketchUp© well enough to meet my needs for drawing small parts, but my, the stuff I see out there that purports to be done with SketchUp©, those drawings are well beyond my abilities. I should mention in this context that I have never used SketchUp© enough to justify purchasing the Pro version, that may well make a difference.

I have tried to learn and use LibreCAD© with little if any success. The following are just a few of my initial questions:

1) What can you do at the Internet Relay Chat Network?

2) Why is a separate registration for LibreOffice© and LibreCAD© needed?

3) There does not seem to be a sub-forum for new folk.

4) There doesn’t seem to be a post of forum rules, not even; Now play nice people.