Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New to CAD and old as dirt

MitchellB
Hello folks, how y'all? I am new to drafting of any kind. Well that's not entirely true, I took a beginning drafting class in junior high (in 1975) but I don't know nuthin' 'bout these fancy COM-puters. I was hoping I could get some help with a few issues I'm having.
I have figured out how to draw lines, circles, angles and stuff. My issue is scaling my drawing correctly. I have no idea how to make the scale to the dimension of the part I want to make. For instance I am making a flat plate for a base for a saw I want to build. I know the plate will be 24"x30" with some slots for mounting the motor and some holes for mounting the saw arm. I can draw the rectangle, the holes, and slots but I have no idea how big any of those things are on my drawing. Can someone direct me to the "show me how many inches this line is long" button?
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New to CAD and old as dirt

dellus
If you just want to know the length of a drawn line, when you click on it and it's highlighted, at the bottom of the screen "Selected Total Length" is shown. Or ask via "Properties" command.
But I guess you want to draw it the right size from the onset. You have to type the coordinates at the command line input.

The @-symbol is to be used for coordinates relative to the last point (the red circle, relative zero). The comma separates x- and y-axis.
Please understand that not every newbie can be given a personal basics schooling. Please read the manual. Unfortunately it's a bit outdated.  

Reply | Threaded
|

ForrestErickson
In reply to this post by MitchellB
Hello MitchellB,

I read your question and wondered how you worked it out.

My first drawing need is something which fits on to letter sized paper at 1:1 so I have not need of scaling, but I realize my case is not general.