classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Novice, trying to create a cutting template

ReDeux
Hi,
I am largely a novice on CAD. I am an artist in reclaimed steel, stone, wood and glass, and am lately finding myself having to model some commissions when incorporating new (non-reclaimed) material into the pieces.

At the moment I have to produce a large extractor hood (such as might be found in a restaurant, over the cooking surfaces), but the client wants all the sides to curve. Simple enough to draw, even for me, in LibreCAD, but the actual need is to create a flat cutting template from that "3D" sketch. Basically, I need to work out what the corners look like when "flattened".

Can anyone help? Unfortunately, new to the system as I am, I don't know the right vocabulary to use so can't find what is probably already out there.

Thanks
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Novice, trying to create a cutting template

Philip
Hi ReDeux and welcome to the forum.

I don't know of any way to unfold a drawing in LibreCAD.  You just have to do it manually.
Reply | Threaded
|

ForrestErickson
In reply to this post by ReDeux
Hello ReDeux,

I have not used this software but remembered your question
Look at:

https://grabcad.com/tutorials/how-to-create-a-square-to-round

Let us know how it goes.

F. Erickson
Reply | Threaded
|

ReDeux
Thanks, I will. I eventually used an "analogue" method which worked sufficiently well, but was nowhere near perfect, so I'm definitely interested in improving the method.

I appreciate the thought!

The WorkShop
Baardskeerdersbos
W Cape, RSA
www.redeux.co.za and www.facebook.com/JanReDeux
Visitors by appointment only, please.

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: Novice, trying to create a cutting template
To: ReDeux
CC:

Hello ReDeux,

I have not used this software but remembered your question
Look at:

https://grabcad.com/tutorials/how-to-create-a-square-to-round