Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

QCAD Book - Useful/Relevant??

ruffrecords
As an electronic engineer  I am new to mechanical CAD. I have played around with LibreCAD but it is so different from the kind of electronic CAD I am used to that I find it very counter intuitive (this is not a criticism of LibreCAD but mechanical CAD in general). There is not much general CAD stuff in the LibreCAD documentation so I purchased the QCAD book which I have found to a useful introduction to mechanical CAD in general. Clearly, there are a lot of similarities between LibreCAD and QCAD. My question is, therefore, how much of the QCAD book is directly relevant to LibreCAD?

Cheers

Ian
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: QCAD Book - Useful/Relevant??

dxli
Since we have no permissions to use their documentation, there's little information available for developers, beyond the fact the legacy LibreCAD-1.0 was developed based on their GPLv2 community release.

We would like our knowledgeable user community to provide a wiki for CAD tutorial/introduction at wiki.librecad.org

ruffrecords wrote
As an electronic engineer  I am new to mechanical CAD. I have played around with LibreCAD but it is so different from the kind of electronic CAD I am used to that I find it very counter intuitive (this is not a criticism of LibreCAD but mechanical CAD in general). There is not much general CAD stuff in the LibreCAD documentation so I purchased the QCAD book which I have found to a useful introduction to mechanical CAD in general. Clearly, there are a lot of similarities between LibreCAD and QCAD. My question is, therefore, how much of the QCAD book is directly relevant to LibreCAD?

Cheers

Ian
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: QCAD Book - Useful/Relevant??

ruffrecords