Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Start again

sp1der
I've been thinking. I am no developer but would it be a good idea to maybe re-write the base code for libreCAD, to my knowledge the code used is from the old QCAD isn't it?

Rather than keep on spending lots of time trying to solve bugs with the old code wouldn't it be better to start again?
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Start again

sp1der
Any feedback on this ?
Reply | Threaded
|

R. van Twisk
Administrator
Arct,

this is not as easy as it sounds as there are several aspects going on.

1) We need to have a small group of developer that can work in sprint’s to design several aspect’s of any new codebase so we have something running in a small amouth of time, this can set the base for further developments.
2) Somebody needs to write a design document ao any developer within the team can follow this design.
3) Somebody needs to write a architectural document so everybody can understand how to develop against LibreCAD, so we don’t get a hack’ish design and put’s us in the same position as we are currently at.

before we do anything, 2) and 3) are very important. I personally have a idea how thing’s should be designed, Dli and I am sure some hard-core c++ user with CAD experience have their own ideas!
The problem is to get everybody on the same line and make time to have this happen...

2 years ago I did develop this : https://github.com/rvt/kerneldev

It was designed with the following in mind:

1) Separate of concern.
 * Application (the GUI) has it’s own codebase
 * The kernel (that handles CAD entities) has it’s own codebase
 * a CAD viewer /that handles viewing of entities) has it’w own codebase.

2) All CAD entities are immutable it has the following advantages
 * Very easy to handle unto/redo
 * Multi processor ‘ready’
 * Easer to make a storage layer (DB, File, REST etc…)