classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
16 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

(Trying to) be a developer

claus82
This post was updated on .
Hello, it's been a while, I had a lot of things to do.
I am not a programmer, yet I decided to begin my path towards the LC programming in order to help if I can.
So I need to know exactly what to download, and more important, what to learn.
If you are patient enough to give me some advice I am waiting for suggestions.
I can imagine that results may take a lot of time to arrive, anyway I would at least try.
I am waiting for explanations/links/suggestions then (programming code documentation, download links, anything else).
I am using a PC with win7, 64 bit
Cheers
Cla
...the problem is not the problem, the problem is your aptitude about the problem...
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: (Trying to) be a developer

dxli
Hi claus82,

For me, I think linux is easier for developers.

For windows, please start from http://wiki.librecad.org/index.php/LibreCAD_Installation_from_Source#Building_LibreCAD_2.0_on_Windows

The wiki covers from a packager perspective rather than from a developer perspective.

For git, you will need a github.com account, a git client ( for example, https://windows.github.com/, or http://msysgit.github.io/);

Then, you will need Qt as explained in the wiki page. For development, Qt-Creator is the IDE to use. Give yourself some time to get used to Qt-Creator (https://qt-project.org/doc/qtcreator-2.7/).

If you can build and run with Qt-Creator, you can proceed to modify the source code and get git commits. It may help for you to have git support from qt-creator GUI.

Please let me know if you have more questions in the process.

claus82 wrote
Hello, it's been a while, I had a lot of things to do.
I am not a programmer, yet I decided to begin my path towards the LC programming in order to help if I can.
So I need to know exactly what to download, and more important, what to learn.