russellf
Hi

I am very new to LC, I installed the latest version today
Version: 2.1.3
Compiler: Clang 8.0.0
Compiled on: Sep 22 2016
Qt Version: 5.6.1
Boost Version: 1.60.0

My current issue is that when I add a dimension the text is so small that it isn't legible either on the screen or when it is printed.

Google turns up several similar issues mostly from much earlier versions and instructions don't seem to match the current version.

Any help much appreciated!
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: can't see text on dimensions

dellus
The text height and other size settings for dimensions have to suit to the size of the drawn object, units and intended (printing) scale. So if it's a mechanical part in mm, let's say 250mm long and to be printed in 1:1, the preset values in options - current drawing preferences - dimensions might do it. But if it's a building, in meters, to be printed in scale 1:100, you will have to change these settings. With 'general scale' you can modify all the values (except 'fixed length'), so you don't have to change all the individual values for a different scale. Also ensure a paper size is set.
Reply | Threaded
|

russellf
Thanks Dellus

I figured that the issue was scaling what I could not figure out was where to change it. Once I know what to look for I found it at:
Options -> Current Drawing Preferences ->Dimensions ->General Scale

I suspect that is a common gotcha for newbies and it might be worth a paragraph in the manual.  I'd write it myself but I am hardly qualified with a few hours fiddling!

Russell
Reply | Threaded
|

ruprect