classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
23 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Isometric Circles

earthcaretech
Hi,

Not only am I a LibreCAD newbie, I'm a CAD newbie, so please treat me gently.

I've drawn up a bracket in isometric, but it has holes in it: or, actually, it should: I can't work out how to draw isometric circles. I've tried ellipses and splines, but I simply can't work out how to make that work properly. It seems such a simple task (and probably is), so could someone tell me what I should be doing?

Thank you.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Isometric Circles

Mike Hayes
1. Set the grid to isometric.

2. Set snap on grid (and deselect any other snap modes)

3. Draw 4 lines to form an isometric view square.

4. Select the "Draw Ellipse Inscribed in a Quadrilateral" tool and click on the 4 lines you have just drawn.

Mike
Reply | Threaded
|

earthcaretech
Mike, thank you for this.

I followed steps 1 - 3 rigorously, selected the "Draw Ellipse Inscribed in a Quadrilateral" tool but could only select 3 lines, not the fourth.

Am I missing something? An ellipse appears after clicking on the third line, and the command line shows "Specify the fourth line" but it won't select.
Reply | Threaded
|

dxli
the feature "Draw Ellipse Inscribed in a Quadrilateral" only works when there's a unique inscribed ellipse.

Therefore, it doesn't work for:

1, trapezoid, there's no solution in general;
2, rectangle, there are infinite number of solutions;

for case 2, we should implement a way to select a solution though.
earthcaretech wrote

I followed steps 1 - 3 rigorously, selected the "Draw Ellipse Inscribed in a Quadrilateral" tool but could only select 3 lines, not the fourth.

Am I missing something? An ellipse appears after clicking on the third line, and the command line shows "Specify the fourth line" but it won't select.
Reply | Threaded
|

dxli
In reply to this post by earthcaretech
Hi,