classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

GSoC 17 LibreCAD

behlV
Hi all,

I am vaibhav bhel pursuing my engineering in chandigarh university. I am in second year now and have a keen interest in programming. My past experience is on C, C++, somewhat Java and ruby as well. I would like to contribute to LibreCAD 3 this year in the LC phase 1 UI.

I downloaded the LibreCAD 3 source code and tried to understand the workings. Somewhat I understood.

I had a quick call with Gaganjyot ( was my senior in the college ) two days ago and he explained me that in this project we need to develop a sort of abstraction from the UI for the LibreCAD.

So I realise we need multiple interfaces for to communicate between UI and LibreCAD kernel.
1) Mouse interface
2) Keyboard interface
3) Buttons interface
4) Menubar interface
5) Context Menu interface.
6) Scroll bar interface ( not sure though )

These interfaces are librecad side interfaces which will be called by Qt/GTK UI.

After building these interfaces, i need to connect LibreCAD and our UI via these interfaces and make them working.

Is this understanding correct?

What else comes under this project? any guidance will be helpful.

I'll be writing and uploading a proposal this weekend.

I know I am a bit late to communicate, I was kind of stuck up in mid-sem exams.

Any other sort of guidance, thoughts will help me in making a better proposal. Please let me know.

Thanks and Regards,
Vaibhav.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: GSoC 17 LibreCAD

behlV
Hi ail,

I had some discussion with ries and gaganjyot regarding the project and I'll be continuing with the javascript plugin interface project.

Having a bit thinking and brainstorming on this project, I understand that we need to create an interface to LibreCAD that will expose LibreCAD functionalities to outside users via JSON.

Reading gaganjyot's blog http://gaganjyot.com/CAD_Plugin_interface I get a better idea,