Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Hello

Jacqui
I'm new to CAD/CAM in general, all of my design work so far has been done on a drawing board. I will be using CAD to design eyeglass frames and possibly some of the tooling needed to produce them. I do have a few questions now and probably several gazillion more later. I am using Ubuntu 12.04  currently and switching to Windows XP or 7 later.

Questions:

1. When is the instruction manual going to be done?? I'm just starting and can't even get a line to stay in one place.

2. Can I scan a sketch to LibreCAD and work from there??

3. Will LibreCAD send .stl files to Mach3 to control a CNC milling machine??

4. Why do I have a headache from all of this?? I'm not entirely uneducated, I have a Doctor of Nursing degree and an MBA, but this is so new to me......

Thank you

Jacqui
Angel Optical
Bob
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Hello

Bob
Hi Jacqui,

Look at the folder for user manual. I have been writing a manual there and is available for download. Claus is also writing part of the manual and you can download his manual there also. I have written the manual with the beginner in mind as I am a former CAD trainer.
I believe our manuals will help you very much.

Bob
Reply | Threaded
|

Rallaz
Librecad is a substitute of the drawing board

1 Bob already answered
2. Yes, "Flie->import->image" to add scaned image into drawing and draw over it
3. No, .stl are a 3D format and LibreCAD are 2D. To generate .stl files you can use Blender or FreeCAD
4. You are entering into the world of descriptive geometry. A wonderful idiom