classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
JGI
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Help Required and yes I'm an Engineer

JGI
I am finding LibreCad difficult to use = nothing works properly!  (Rant over)

Whilst I can open a blank drawing and draw a line or circle, this is not what is expected from a computer based drafting system.  I find the menus (Version 2.1.3) confusing and related to systems developers NOT professional users.  Whether an architect, electronics, mechanical or process engineer.

The status bar at the bottom has no relevance and appears inoperable.

On opening a drawing I want to decide the scale of my drawing e.g. is the grid 1:1, 2:1 or 1:1000.  There is no menu to decide how my screen should reflect any printed output.

The library browser and parts list has no scaling capability.  If I import an item the icon is miniscule - in drawing my garden if I import a tree then I want to consider its dimensions on my plot.  If designing a wall from bricks - what size of brick am I using and how many are needed if when using Hatch.

If as an electronics engineer designing with IC, resistors, capacitors etc, whilst these can be labelled where is the inventory data-base?  This should be automatically produced as items are imported from the parts library. (if required of course)

I've tried reading the various manual and Quick-Reference guides without success.

Please can somebody who understands LibreCad look at the system from the End-User perspective?  (I've also looked at FreeCad and have very similar issues)I've tried reading

I don't mind helping but I just cannot even start!

Regard.
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Help Required and yes I'm an Engineer

Philip
This post was updated on .
JGI