How to Change Scale in a Designed Architecture Floor Draw?

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

How to Change Scale in a Designed Architecture Floor Draw?

E. A. Capuano
I am a Civil Engineer a little bit interested in using LibreCAD in my project office and I started some tests of the software trying to design just a complete bathroom (in architecture floor plant). So, after some initial disappointment with the "User Manual" about how to put dimensions in the lines (or "line entities"), the test was going on very well till I didn't find in the (very poor) LibreCAD "User Manual" how to change drawing scale (not printing scale) in a draw of a floor plant. In my floor plant draw (with a external wall rectangle of 200 cm x 400 cm) I used 1 (one) unit of screen grid for each 20 centimeters, but when I call for the dimensions numbers pressing the button "Draft" appeared "160" in the wall that was expected to be "400". I tried to modify scale ratio in every tool I supposed to be up to this change, but unsuccessfully. I am suggesting now that the "User Manual" team insert a new chapter entirely dedicated to lear the users how to deal with drawing scales "in the real world", simulating real world design with architecture draws such as the example of my LibreCAD test! In sum, it is important the "User Manual" be written by the authors with a team of engineers driving them with "real world" drawing examples.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: How to Change Scale in a Designed Architecture Floor Draw?

dellus
It took me a while to understand what you mean with drawing scale (vs printing scale). So you want to use the screen grid to determine lengths. Out of the box the grid scaling varies dynamically to zoom ratio.