Interested in Contributing, where to start?

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Interested in Contributing, where to start?

ezzieyguywuf
Hello everyone! I'm completely new to librecad: haven't even installed it yet. I used qcad some years ago and thought it was quite alright for a 2d CAD software - later, I didn't feel like paying so I stopped using it.

I see that librecad is a fork of qcad: how far has librecad diverged from the original qcad source code? What's the deal with qcad 3? Is there a bug tracker? In what way can I help contribute to this project?
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Interested in Contributing, where to start?

LordOfBikes
Administrator
Hi,

welcome ezzieyguywuf!

When LibreCAD started, the target was to kill all Qt3 dependencies and move to Qt4. This per se brought extensive changes to the source code. With the release of LibreCAD 2.1 the GUI was revamped too. Also QCAD is far behind 3.0. Thus they don't have much in common now, beside that they are both 2D CAD software.
The issue with LibreCAD 2.x is, that it still depends on the QCAD 2.x license, GPLv2, what embarrassed the development couple of times in past.

The state of LibreCAD 2 is, that we are on version 2.2.0rc, that means release candidate, the code head is in a stable state and next will be to officially release 2.2.0. There are a few things to do, but nothing experimental.

LibreCAD 3 is build from scratch. With a new concept and no more license issues. The kernel has evolved over the past years with great work from a couple of GSoC students. This year we have a GSoC student again, working on rendering with OpenGL for performance improvement.
Also the LibreCAD 3 GUI has evolved, but it is still not ready for a first release.