Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

MIT COGO

david muir
Hi All I'm an ancient software developer, started programming on an ALWAC IIE in 1960 (a vacuum tube computer) at the University of B.C. I joined Computers Sciences Corp.(CSC) in 1966 after getting my MA in Math. We supported computer users in Vancouver B.C. via an Univac 1004 computer connected by 1200 baud leased telephone line to the Univac 1108 computer managed by CSC at the Hanford Atomic Energy site in Richland Wash. Later in 1968 we put in an Univac 1108 computer in Calgary Alberta for the Oil Industry. I'm now 80 and still working 3 days a week at a geophysical consulting and surveying company. Mainly working on parallel programs on clusters to do 2d & 3d inversion models from geophysical data. However I joined this forum because of my background and interest in civil engineering. At CSC I supported numerous companies, particularly in civil, stuctural, surveying and mining. One of the more interesting civil engineering projects I worked on for several years in the late 60's and early 70's was the Mica Dam on the Columbia river in B.C. At the time it was the largest Earth Fill dam in the world. I developed a Hierarchical database system to calculate the Extraaction and Fill quantities for the dam. Final database had over 750,000 survey data points. Just for the excavation their were 128 crossections with 17 different profile, e.g. dow excavation, final excavated, neat line, payline, etc. Also in the late 60's one of the CSC offices obtained the source code for the MIT COGO program. They had done a partial conversion from the Fortran code for the IBM computer to the Univac 1108 computer for some client, but hadn't fully converted or tested it. With the help of another CSC programmer at Hanford , he and I completed the conversion, updated the code and reworked the control structure of the program. Anot