Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

MOVE_COPY

sgchemist
Total newb with very modest aspirations for this program.
The move/copy command is something I use a LOT to create arrays, corrections etc.
The duplicate/copy part is well worth the effort to create multiple copies of a drawing/piece with snap etc.
The two reference points is a bit counterintuitive - but you can get used to that pretty fast - it's just a case of having some faith that something will happen...eventually.
The MOVE part I'd really, really like to be able to move with the up-down-left-right-arrows...this would be FASTER and a LOT MORE INTUITIVE.
This is not a case of instead of - this is a case of as well as.
I also find that the move/copy command has a bug - or perhaps I'm not using it right, but it seems to me that if the process is
a) select move/copy, select item, select reference point(s), move/copy it works fine
BUT if
b) the process is instead
select item, select move/copy
then I have to hit enter to RESELECT the item that's already been selected to "register" it with move/copy,
select reference points, move/copy it works also - but clunkily because of the double select process.

Better to move what's selected, regardless of whether it's selected BEFORE or after the move/copy command - after all - what is selected - should be SELECTED - throughout...at least throughout that layer - I suspect it's not possible to select across multiple layers - so by default - select should be global not local. Haven't tried this with other operations but suspect it's a universal bug