Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Moving the drawing within the viewport

Bloodknot
Hi, I'm a real newbie to LibreCAD and just getting to grips with it. Previous CAD experience is with AutoCAD 2009. The actual drawing of objects I'm sure I will suss out however, on the Mac I find the zoom using the mouse is a tad extreme but I guess I will get used to it. What I am really missing is the ability to drag the drawing around the viewport without altering the zoom %age. With AutoCAD I would press and hold the mouse wheel and drag so is this just a technique I haven't yet found or is it to do with the Mac mouse not having a physical wheel? The other thing not found yet is zoom extents in case I zoom it into oblivion. Many thanks for any help and keep safe.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Moving the drawing within the viewport

dellus
You should be able to shift the view by pressing and holding the middle mouse button/wheel and dragging around. But I don't know if there is something different on a Mac.
In Print Preview you can drag the paper sheet with the left mouse button beneath the drawing.

Equivalent to zoom extents is Auto Zoom (za).
Reply | Threaded
|

Bloodknot
Many thanks.  It looks to be a Mac thing.  I have found that the right mouse key will give a short menu including Zoom Panning which does the same but you have to select it every time. A bit of a pain. Will have to try it on the Windows laptop.  Also thanks for the Auto Zoom tip.

Best Regards and keep safe,

On 16 Mar 2021, at 13:42, dellus [via LibreCAD] <[hidden email]> wrote:

You should be able to shift the view by pressing and holding the middle mouse button/wheel and dragging around. But I don't know if there is something different on a Mac.
In Print Preview you can drag the paper sheet with the left mouse button beneath the drawing.

Equivalent to zoom extents is Auto Zoom (za).