Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New User Suggestions

marioguttman
I am new to LibreCAD but very impressed so far. It is very close to what I am looking for but has a couple of basic problems that are preventing me from actually using it.

Do the developers want to hear about these kinds of issues? How would you like the suggestions to be submitted? I don’t want to be annoying but I think I can actually help with the design.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New User Suggestions

aman
Could you tell here about issues, maybe someone could help?

I'm and many others have used LibreCAD for quite a while without any majos hickups.

What version of LibreCAD did you try?

And at the head of the front page are links to documentation.

Quite often the difficulties derive from that user has got so used to some other commercial CAD, and it is hard to 'unlearn' habits.
Reply | Threaded
|

marioguttman
First, let me say that I really like LibreCAD. I hope the developers will resist the suggestions to add a lot of features like AutoCAD. What I like about LibreCAD is that it has just the features I want without a lot of distractions.

I have had a few hiccups that might be improved or documented better and I may come back to those, but I was able to work around them.

My main concern is with the way scale is handled with line weights and types . In my opinion, a tool like LibreCAD should support a work process that includes printing (plotting) output. In today's work world that is almost always to a .PDF file since that is the way we exchange “plots” and it makes it much easier to utilize a plotting service without getting into printer settings.

To this end, I want to see the line weights and types (dashes etc.) as I am working in the same way as they will be plotted. The color seems to work fine. I have two problems with the lines: