Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

newbie here

nodeular
Hi there, I am trying to learn LibreCAD so that I can put together some structural engineering drawings for my dad. I am a bit stumped on two things:

1. how do i specify exact length in segments of a polyline i.e. i need to show the stress points in a cross section of a concrete beam and the measurements are very specific but i have so far only worked out how to specify exact length in an ordinary line.

2. is there a way to convert an ordinary line to a poly line or to join two ordinary lines so that they become a poly line. that way i could specify their exact length first.

oh, and a third thing which is probably very basic but i need to check. the drawings are done to a 1:25 scale. am i right in assuming that this is a fraction so the decimal i should use in 'general scale' would be .04 or is there something else entirely going on there :}

TIA to anyone who can help.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: newbie here

dxli
1. I will check the length of polyline later;
2. Yes, under Draw Polyline, there's a method of "Create Polyline from";
3. It's recommended to always draw in the real dimensions: if you the object is 1mm, draw as 1 mm; if the object is 1Km, draw as 1 Km. Leave all scaling to printing stage. The general scale of dimensions is used as a way to simulate unit changes.

nodeular wrote
Hi there, I am trying to learn LibreCAD so that I can put together some structural engineering drawings for my dad. I am a bit stumped on two things:

1. how do i specify exact length in segments of a polyline i.e. i need to show the stress points in a cross section of a concrete beam and the measurements are very specific but i have so far only worked out how to specify exact length in an ordinary line.