classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
25 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

LibreCAD for Building Survey projects

Tim Payne
Hi All,
I have a Terrestrial Laser Scanner, with which I have acquired data on several likely projects.
I have upgraded to Version: 2.2.0-rc3-24-g4602ec6a
Compiler: GNU GCC 7.3.0
Compiled on: Mar  5 2022
Qt Version: 5.12.4
Boost Version: 1.65.1
System: Windows 10 (10.0)
from LibreCAD v2.103

As a Surveyor I have no requirement for Architectural (design / new-build software), just an app that I can use to trace over a generated "object".
I have registered a number of point clouds together, of a buiding of interest, extracted a very thin horizontal slice from the registered point cloud (this gives a floor plan), then saved as a .dxf file, however, the plan oulines have to be "traced" over, in an app such as LibreCAD, to generate a workable, dimensioned deliverable.

However, the file dxf point cloud is large (only 40MB) for LC and makes it difficult to manipulate or operate drawing tools, so I thought that if I acquired a top down image of this point cloud, then I could import that and trace out the floor plan over this image.

However, if I insert a top-down BMP image to a new layer in LC, the image displays, if Draft is NOT selected. If I select Draft, then the image disappears.

The concept was proved by Gary Fox in two You Tube tutorials "Tracing a picture with LibreCAD Pts 1 & 2", but he was using an old (?) version of LibreCAD and he used a JPG to trace over. (I've tried PNG, JPG & BMP all with the same result...).

Any advice greatly appreciated.

TP
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: LibreCAD for Building Survey projects

perepujal
Hi,
If the slice could be exported to a .csv file and the points are in order, then the plugin "Read ascii points" could help you to trace lines between points, check the "connect points" box