classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
14 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New User help

Max Joseph
Hi,

I am a newb with lots of computer experience, but little CAD time.

I am hoping to create a 2D drawing based on a template I made out of cardboard.  I imported a photo of my template and successfully traced it into a polygon, so success on that front.

Now I want to make sure the dimensions of the object are correct before sending it off for laser cutting of metal.

This seems like it shouldn't be hard,  but the measuring and scaling functions seem CRAZY.  If I use the point to point measuring, I seem to get weird values displayed at the bottom of the window?

I have set the Application preferences to display in inches, but don't see any inches" displayed when measuring.

THANKS FOR ALL OF THE HARD WORK!  I appreciate the software and hope I can figure this out.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: New User help

aman
Welcome!

Drawing a 2D image with LibreCAD should not be hard at all, that's where it is at it's best.

I think you have done things in reverse order. A card board template is a good idea, but trying to get the dimensions from imported photo is not.

Accuracy is why CAD is used anyway.

Better measure the dimensions from the cardboard model, start a new empty drawing, and then insert those measured dimensions, save. If you want to fine tune, it's now easy, just remember to save often if you modify.

There are links to manuals and FAQs at the top of the start page. I would recommend you to at least skim those.
Reply | Threaded
|

Max Joseph
Thanks!

I don’t understand what you are saying?  How do I “insert the measured dimensions” while tracing my image?

Thanks again!

> On Dec 14, 2020, at 11:10 AM, aman [via LibreCAD] <[hidden email]> wrote:
>
> Welcome!
>
> Drawing a 2D image with LibreCAD should not be hard at all, that's where it is at it's best.
>