Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Newbie on modification and selection

pwright2
I'm a newbie to both LibreCAD and CAD in general.  I consider myself a power user on most general purpose office software - in Windows.  I am running Windows 7 64 bit and LibreCAD 2.0.0beta1.

I've been able to create a few drawings.  The 'LibreCAD version 2, users Manual/Guide - by Bob Woltz' has been invaluable.  It does seem to exist on more than one url address.  Difficult to determine what might be the latest version.  Would be nice if all of the diagrams showed up.  I can only see diagrams down to the L-Block.  

One thing seems odd about the way the program works.  (Please do not take this as criticism.  Simply an observation that, I think, needs explaining to the newbie.)  On most programs you select an item and then choose the operation to apply.  LC seems to have you select the operation and then select the item and then cause the operation to execute.  Different but valid, if it is consistent.

My problem with this is that it only seems to work when you individually select each entity in what you want to affect.  I would like to be able to drag and select a whole group of entities, but that does not seem to work.  For instance, I did all my initial drawings with 0 thickness lines selected. Looks fine on screen, doesn't print all that well.  I would like to Modify, Select All, Properties and then choose a line thickness and set them all.  Properties box never opens.  

Am I missing some essential step?

-----Paul-----
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Newbie on modification and selection

sp1der
Hi Paul

try this:

1. Select entities.

2.Go to Modify > Attributes > click enter key.

3. In attributes dialog > Change layer state (which will change all the selected entities to the chosen 'layers' attributes.) Or choose to select Color, Line width or line type.

press OK