Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Total Noobie Question

DrGrafix
I am totally unfamiliar with using a CAD program, but I'm a retired designer who is so old, I go back to mechanical drafting processes with T-Squares LOL. I am, however adept at graphic programs like Photoshop, and although I haven't used it much lately, I have used Corel Draw in the past on a PC.  I have long since switched to Mac and haven't really looked at Corel for Mac which was recently announced.

OK, so I have a "CAD" project to design a sheet aluminum automotive radiator shroud.  I have a friend with a CNC Plasma cutting table, and what I want to do is give him a DWG file that he can plug into his system, and the cutter will work its magic and cut out the aluminum sheet to a shape(s) needed to fabricate the shroud.  The shroud can be described as a shallow tray measuring about 17" high and 24" wide. The sheet will incorporate some side panels of about 3/4" high that will be folded on a metal brake tool once the sheet is cut, then they will be welded.  Here's a look at what the cut sheet might look like:

I've built a full scale 3D model to test fit everything, its crude but does the job.

Also did a "3D" sketch using Photoshop:

So I downloaded LibraCAD and I'm trying to figure out how to create this 2D layout.  Is there a simple, easy to follow tutorial anywhere on the web? Or is there a video on YouTube that shows how to create something like this... a flat sheet with specifically located cutouts and angles?  Thanks in advance for your help.-Mike
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Total Noobie Question

flywire
It looks fairly straight forward - rectangle with circular and rectangular/triangular cutouts.

Have you tried https://dokuwiki.librecad.org/doku.php/usage:tutorials? The Basics carport example is probably much more complex than you need.
Reply | Threaded
|

DrGrafix