Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

cadastral mapper

barfalloverme
LibreCad Forum:  I'm a newbie to Librecad but not to Autocad. What I love about LibreCad is - It's FREE! I'm now retired and don't want to spend $200. a month for cad. "Cadastral Mapping" is a euphemism for "boring maps used to tax the crap out of property owners" I've drawn a lot of these in Librecad and am trying to merge them together in one large drawing by inserting them as blocks. It worked for a while but now it crashes everytime I give the incoming block a reference point. Is there a better way of doing this? I tried copy/paste but it didn't work. Do I need more memory? Another question I have is will AutoCad be able to open a LibreCad drawing? I'm using windows 10 and Librecad 2.1.3. Thank you in advance. Dave
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: cadastral mapper

LordOfBikes
Administrator
Welcome @barfalloverme!

A first try could be to use latest LibreCAD version 2.2.0-rc4-23-ge3fae3dc. it is in release candidate state and safe to use.
Find it here: https://github.com/LibreCAD/LibreCAD/releases/tag/latest

There is a known issue in latest version, with nested blocks, which are not loaded correct.
So this may be a dealbreaker for now. With nested blocks I mean blocks containing blocks.

Generally, this sounds like there is a real bunch of entities involved.
This is probably not a matter of RAM, but LibreCAD's capabilities to handle big files.
Its organization of entities is not optimal and it is known to become really slow with big files, but I never heard about crashes with big files.

Concerning copy/paste, this should usually work. Maybe you missed to set a reference point after copy command? Then paste does nothing.
- use COPY command
- set reference point
- switch to other drawing
- use PASTE command
- set insert point

AutoCAD should be able to open LibreCAD DXF files, but I can't test this.