Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

how to draw a semi circle

kosisme
As a beginner I am trying to draw a semi circular arch over two parallel lines. I have managed to create a circle in the correct place and size using the 2 point circle tool, but cannot find a way to delete the unwanted half of the circle. Am I going about this the wrong way ?.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: how to draw a semi circle

dellus
The easiest is to use Modify - Divide and cut up the circle at the intersection points and then delete the unwanted part.
Or directly draw a half circle with Curve - Center,Point,Angles. It's an arc then.
Reply | Threaded
|

kosisme
Thanks for the advice but I am no further forward. I am using windows 10 and have downloaded librecad 2.2.0. I seem to have only circle options on the toolbar and there is no curve tool option available. Have tried your other suggestion modify-divide but this does not work properly either. My, lines start on 0,0 and are 100mm apart and 200mm long and i have created a circle 100mm dia with its centre on the end of the lines, below is what happens !
modify-divide "specify entity to cut (ci- enter). "specify center" (50,200-enter). "specify point on circle"
(0,200-enter). At this point I was expecting to see something like "specify second point on circle" but what happens is it creates a second circle of the same size on top of the original and the command line reverts to "specify entity to cut". It is probably me but could there be problems with the windows 10 version of librecad especially as I am missing the curve toolbar.
 drawing
Reply | Threaded
|

dellus
In the left toolbar the curve tools group is named 'Freehand', in the top toolbars Tools - 'Curve'.