How to draw an ellipse from the command line.

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

How to draw an ellipse from the command line.

Librecadni10
To all the persons who use this LibreCAD forum: greetings,

My hands shake to the extent that drawing with the mouse is a exercise in futility. I've just started using LibreCAD and was quite pleased when I created my first, very simple, drawing. I'm a retired Plumber and HVACR service technician, I'm also a home shop/hobby machinist. I want to be able to design various parts for various projects I have in mind to make.

One of the shapes I'd like to learn to draw is an ellipse, so far I'm not understanding the directions provided in the manual. If there's a tutorial that focuses on drawing an ellipse from the command line I'd appreciate a link. If there isn't such a tutorial, them perhaps someone would be willing to list the steps.

There is an entire CAD vocabulary and I don't have sufficient background at this point to understand more than a small amount of CAD speak. If you choose to attempt an explanation of drawing an ellipse from the command line, please give some thought to being clear and basic as possible.

Thank you and respectfully yours, Librecadni10    
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: How to draw an ellipse from the command line.

fa201
According to User Manual, the only ellipse command will be "ei" with draw an inscribed ellipse (ellipse bounded by 4 non parallel sides).
First you draw the 4 lines.
Then you type "ei" in the command line.
Then you need to select the 4 lines
Fabrice

French hobbyist interested in 2D design.
Reply | Threaded
|

Trikester