classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
11 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Import Error: Error reading DXF/DWG sections

ArlianObsidian
Hello all,
I'm new to LibreCAD, so please excuse my ignorance when it comes to all the functions in this program. I have been using AutoCAD for years, but my license is up and I cannot sustain the cost. I only just learned about LibreCAD and I'm very excited to start using this program!

I am having difficulty importing my previous projects from AutoCAD. I exported my projects to .dwf format (though it doesn't appear that I can do anything with those. Next I used an online converter to convert my .dwg files to .dxf format. I can open the .dxf files in AutoCAD still (though I lost my paper space layouts, but that's not such a big deal).

When I attempt to open my .dxf files in LibreCAD, however, I receive the following prompt:

Error Message

You can see in my screen snip that my project is visible behind the error message. When I select "OK," that all goes away. I've tried zooming in, and zooming out, as has been suggested in other forum threads. My project is not there, and the application header does not display my project name.

Application Heading

Since AutoCAD is the only other CAD software I've ever used, and I am so new to LibreCAD, I am really at a loss on what to do next. I have another 25 days before my AutoCAD license expires, and I'm in a bit of a state of panic. I greatly appreciate any help from the LibreCAD community! Thanks in advance.

-Arlian

1105_S_50th_Ave.dwg
1105_S_50th_Ave.dxf
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Import Error: Error reading DXF/DWG sections

dellus
Your dxf file opens for me with no issues in LibreCAD 2.1.3 as well as in 2.2.0 rc4 on Win XP.
I don't get the import error message.
When I try to open the dwg is says unsupported dwg/dxf file version.